June Mar Fajardo wins a historic fourth straight MVP award

And still!

June Mar Fajardo is the best player in the league for the fourth year in a row. The Kraken won his fourth straight MVP, besting teammates Alex Cabagnot and Chris Ross who were also vying to win the award. Fajardo is now part of an elite and very short list of players with four MVPs.

He joins former San Miguel Beerman Ramon Fernandez and Purefoods superstar Alvin Patrimonio as the only players to win four MVPs. The key difference between is that Fajardo won his awards four years in a row. He achieves history as the only player in the PBA to have ever done that.


Fajardo collected trophies in the annual PBA Leo Awards. He was also part of the Mythical First Team and the All-Defensive Team.

Completing the Mythical First Team are four San Miguel Beermen. Fellow MVP contenders Chris Ross and Alex Cabagnot are the guard selections of the team while Arwind Santos is one of the forwards on the team. Completing the Mythical Five First Team is Barangay Ginebra’s Japeth Aguilar.

The Second Team of the Mythical Five is composed of Jayson Castro and Kelly Williams from the TNT KaTropa, LA Tenorio and Joe Devance from Barangay Ginebra and Cliff Hodge from the Meralco Bolts.

The All-Defensive Team is made up of Fajardo, Ross, Aguilar with Gabe Norwood of the Rain or Shine Elasto Painters and Jio Jalalon of the Star Hotshots.

RR Pogoy of the TNT KaTropa was named Rookie of the Year. He beat out Kevin Ferrer, Reden Celda, Jio Jalalon and Matthew Wright for the award.

Ross was named the Most Improved Player of the Year. He finished the Commissioner’s Cup as the Best Player of the Conference and he helped San Miguel to two championships this season. Ross wins over Raymond Almazan, Baser Amer, Mike DiGregorio, Allein Maliksi and Troy Rosario.

Norwood was awarded with the PBA’s Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award. This award is given to the player that displays exemplary class and great sportsmanship to his fellow competitors. The other nominees for the award are PJ Simon and Scottie Thompson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin says captcha_library not found.