Gilas #23for23 Pool to compete in this year’s FilOil preseason tournament

Everyone in the country will now get a glimpse of the future.

To spice up this year’s FilOil Flying V Preseason Premier Cup the tournament has added a new teams to it’s usual roster of collegiate teams. The Gilas 23 for 2023 World Cup pool will be battling it out with some of the top collegiate teams in the country in this year’s preseason tournament.

“To kick start our preparations for the 2023 World Cup, we will be competing in the Premier Cup,” said Gilas head coach Chot Reyes.


Leading the charge are JJay Alejandro and Abu Tratter, both of whom have used up their college eligibility and are not part of any professional team yet. Another mainstay of the team will be one of the latest additions to the Pool, Ricci Rivero. Rivero is not part of any collegiate team as of the moment after he announced his departure from the Green Archers.

Also expected to be part of the team competing in this year’s tournament is Kobe Paras. The high-flying forward recently announced that he is going pro after leaving California State University Northridge.


The rest of the pool is made up mostly of current collegiate stars. Thirdy Ravena, Isaac Go, and Matt Nieto of Ateneo, Robert Bolick, Javee Mocon, and Kemark Carino of San Beda, CJ Perez of Lyceum, Paul Desiderio, Juan Gomez de Liaño, and Will Gozum of UP, Ken Tuffin and Arvin Tolentino of FEU, Jeo Ambohot of Letran make up part of the Pool. High school standouts Kai Sotto of Ateneo and Carl Tamayo of NU complete the pool.

“The lineup is not yet final, but we are hoping that all the 23-for-2023 cadets here will be allowed to play,” said Reyes.

Other members of the pool are expected to join the Gilas team competing in the tournament only if their collegiate teams are not competing on that day.

The field for this year’s tournament is composed of 16 teams broken down into two groups.

The Gilas team is part of Group A along with the Ateneo Blue Eagles, La Salle Green Archers, UP Fighting Maroons, San Beda Red Lions, NU Bulldogs, EAC Generals, Perpetual Altas and UE Red Warriors.

Group B includes the Adamson Falcons, Arellano Chiefs, Lyceum Pirates, JRU Heavy Bombers, FEU Tamaraws, Benilde Blazers, Letran Knights, UST Growling Tigers and the San Sebastian Stags.