Ben Mbala wins back-to-back MVPs

For the second straight year, Ben Mbala dominated the UAAP. He once again led the entire field in statistical points. But more than the stats, Mbala played an even bigger role for the La Salle Green Archers this season. There were some games where he put his team on his broad shoulders and carried them to a win. That’s why for the second straight year, Mbala won the UAAP Most Valuable Player award.

This season, Mbala played 12 games, missing the first two games due to National Team duty for Cameroon. In that stretch he averaged 26.0 points, 13.1 rebounds and 2.5 blocks. He led the pack with a whopping 96.58 statistical points (SPs) to win his second MVP award.


Mbala was also named the Center for this year’s Mythical team. Joining him on the team is teammate Ricci Rivero. The La Salle soph had 56.29 SPs. He broke out in the middle of the season to average 14.1 points, 5.4 rebounds and 1.7 steals per game.

Jjay Alejandro took the other guard position of the Mythical team. The NU Bulldog flirted with triple-doubles. He led the team in scoring (17.1 ppg) and assists (6.1 apg) and was third in rebounds (6.6 rpg). Taking the forward positions in the Mythical Team were  Thirdy Ravena and Alvin Pasaol.

Ravena led the Blue Eagles to a 13-1 record averaging 14.4 points, 8.4 rebounds and 3.3 assists. He was second in the MVP race with 66.5 SPs. Pasaol broke onto the scene with a 49-point explosion against the Green Archers. He continued his high-scoring ways to finish second in the UAAP in scoring with 20.6 points per night.


Juan Gomez De Liano won the Rookie of the Year award. He averaged 11.6 points, 6.2 rebounds and 2.5 assists in his first year in the UAAP Men’s Division.

In the Women’s Division, Jack Animam from the NU Lady Bulldogs won the MVP. She garnered 77.29 SPs to lead all players. Joining her in the Mythical Team are her teammates forward Rhena Itesi and guard Ria Nabalan.

Rounding out the top five for the Women’s Division are Love Sto. Domingo from the UE Lady Warriors and Jhenn Angeles from the UST Tigresses. Angeles replaced teammate Sai Larosa who was disqualified from the Mythical team for fighting. UP Lady Maroon Marian Domingo won the Rookie of the Year for the Women’s Division.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin says captcha_library not found.