Ben Mbala takes home MVP, but Isaac Go reaps benefits of sponsored prizes


Ben Mbala, as previously announced, took home the MVP for UAAP Season 79, but his Finals matchup from Ateneo, Isaac Go, picked up more sponsored awards, which come with cash prizes.

Go won the Chooks-to-Go Sportsmanship Award, as well as the Appeton Most Improved Player Award, giving him a combined P150,000.

For his part, Mbala didn’t go home empty-handed. He was named PSBankable Player of the Season and was the Kopiko 78 Recharged Player of DLSU, for P125,000 total.

The other Recharged Players were BonBon Batiller (UE), Louie Vigil (UST), Dave Moralde (UP), Jerrick Ahanmisi (ADU), Anton Asistio (ADMU) and Jjay Alejandro (NU). Each took home P25,000.

As previously reported, Mbala also took the center spot in the Mythical Five, in addition to Raymar Jose (FEU) and Jeron Teng (DLSU) at forwards, and Thirdy Ravena (ADMU) and Paul Desiderio (UP) at guard.

Another DLSU Green Archer, Aljun Melecio, was named Rookie of the Year.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin says captcha_library not found.